top of page
  • admin1884

The Zones of Regulation

The Zones of Regulation teaches children skills toward developing an awareness of their feelings and utilize a variety of tools and strategies for regulation. This includes exploring tools and strategies for mindfulness, sensory integration, movement, thinking strategies, wellness, and healthy connection with others.

The Zones of Regulation provides a compassionate framework to support positive mental health and skill development for all, while creating a systematic approach to teach regulation by breaking down our feelings into colored categories. The framework is designed to help move children toward more independent regulation.

The Red Zone is used to describe extremely heightened states of alertness and intense emotions. A person may be elated or experiencing anger, rage, devastation, or terror when in the Red Zone. The Yellow Zone is also used to describe a heightened state of alertness and elevated emotions, however one has more control when they are in the Yellow Zone. A person may be experiencing stress, frustration, anxiety, excitement, silliness, the wiggles, or nervousness when in the Yellow Zone. The Green Zone is used to describe a calm state of alertness. A person may be described as happy, focused, content, or ready to learn when in the Green Zone. This is the zone where optimal learning occurs. The Blue Zone is used to describe low states of alertness and down feelings such as when one feels sad, tired, sick, or bored.

Click below to download your copy of our zone chart with some strategies that can be placed into your wallet for easy access when out and about!

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page